Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2012 Adds Six Backing Groups

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is attempting to make up for past oversights at this year’s induction ceremony on April 14 by bringing on the backing groups of six first-generation rock stars.

In each case, the backing groups were not admitted into the Hall of Fame at the same time as their frontman, causing some controversy.

The honored groups include the Crickets (Buddy Holly), the Famous Flames (James Brown), the Miracles (Smokey Robinson), the Blue Caps (Gene Vincent), the Comets (Bill Haley) and the Midnighters (Hank Ballard).

The Hall of Fame’s decision not to induct the Miracles with Smokey Robinson in 1987 was specifically contentious since the Hall’s rules ensure an artist is eligible for induction 25 years after their debut album. At the time, Robinson was a solo artist for only 14 years.

“These Inductees are pioneers in the development of the music we call rock and roll,” the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s president and CEO Joel Peresman said in a statement. “As part of our mission to recognize the most impactful, innovative and influential artists in rock, the committee brought forth these six groups that belong in the Hall of Fame.”

Other inductees at this year’s annual ceremony in Cleveland’s Public Hall are Guns N’s Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beastie Boys, Donovan, Laura Nyro, The Small Faces/Faces, Freddie King, Don Kirshner, Tom Dowd, Glyn Johns and Cosimo Matassa.

This article was originally published on

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.