Before grunge, before the current garage revival, there was The Fuzztones. Combining ‘60s fuzzbox sound with the aggression of ‘70s punk, The Fuzztones became underground legends. On March 26, Cleopatra Records is releasing a collection of rare demos, alternate tracks, and unreleased live and studio tracks that span The Fuzztones thirty-three year career.

From the jangly guitars and harmonica on “Lord, Have Mercy On My Soul” to the raucous, unbridled “Kick Out The Jams,” the spirit and energy of old school rock ‘n’ roll pours out of each track. Also included are guest appearances by Ian Astbury (The Cult), Rat Scabies (The Damned), and James Lowe (Electric Prunes) as well as radio and television interview soundbites (including one with Martha Quinn for MTV).

Founded in 1980 by Rudi Protrudi, The Fuzztones indie cred has kept the band’s reputation going for more than three decades. One of few psych/’60s revival bands to get a major label deal in the ‘80s, Fuzztones made a lot of noise from its hometown of NYC to L.A., and then in Europe. They continued to release more than a dozen albums independently. In addition to Rudi curating this collection from the band’s vaults, this year promises to include both Rudi’s autobiography and a band documentary.

1. You Must Be A Witch (Demo Version) 1989
2. 53rd & 3rd (Ramones Tribute) 2004
3. Face Of Time (Original 45 Version) 2000
4. Hey Joe (with Craig Moore of GONN) 2008
5. Lord, Have Mercy On My Soul (Unreleased Version) 2005
6. French Radio Ad 1990
7. They’re Gonna Take You Away (Lost In Tyme magazine CD)
8. Kick Out The Jams (Live w/Ian Astbury of The Cult) 1989
9. Blood From A Stone (Demo Version) 1989
10. Salem Witch Trial (Psychedelica compilation) 2005
11. Out Of Our Tree (Misty Lane 45) 2003
12. Help, Murder, Police (Misty Lane 45) 2003
13. My Brother, The Man (Original 45 Version) 2000
14. It Ain’t Necessarily So (Unreleased Studio Track) 2006
15. A Wristwatch Band (Original Version) 2000
16. 96 Tears (Live Soundcheck) 1989
17. Little Steven’s Underground Garage Radio Ad
18. Gloria (Live w/ Rat Scabies of The Damned & Clive Jackson of Doctor & The Medics – Complete
Unreleased Version) 1985

1. Bad Part Of Town (Sky Saxon Tribute) 2011
2. Can’t Stand This Love, Goodbye (Live Unreleased) 1984
3. Writing On The Wall (Live Unreleased) 1984
4. Blues Theme 2003 (Davie Allan Tribute) 2003
5. The People In Me (w/Sean Bonniwell of Music Machine)
6. Beg, Borrow & Steal (Live Unreleased) 1984
7. She Told Me Lies (Live-Chesterfield Kings Cover) 1984
8. Get Naked (Alternate Version) 2004
9. Hallucination Generation (Alternate Version w/ James Lowe of Electric Prunes) 2004
10. Romilar D (Spanish Version) 1990
11. I’ve Got A Way With Girls (He Put The Bomp! Compilation) 2005
12. Leave Your Mind Behind (Bonus Track) 2011
13. Pipe Dream (Original Line-up Live at CBGBs) 1981
14. Talk Talk (Original Line-up Live at CBGBs) 1981
15. Oh Those Eyes (Ansia De Color Compilation)
16. Just Like Me (w/Craig Moore of GONN)
17. Brand New Man (Misty Lane 45) 2003
18. Epilogue (German Radio)

The Fuzztones SNAKE OIL is out March 26, 2013, in stores and online. The 2-CD set is MSRP $14.98 and comes in a sleek digi-pak.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply